Daily Bible Reading

God in a box

I often put God in a box. I define Him as what He is to me at a particular moment or season in my life. He is that, but He is also more.

2 Samuel 22 is a psalm of David. He has finally, near the end of his life, defeated all his enemies. To David, in that moment, God is salvation.

The Lord is my rock, my fortress, and my savior;
my God is my rock, in whom I find protection.
He is my shield, the strength of my salvation, and my stronghold,
my high tower, my savior, the one who saves me from violence.
I will call upon the Lord, who is worthy of my praise,
for he saves me from my enemies.

2 Samuel 22:2-4 (NLT)

It would seem that David also had a tendency to put God in a box. The entire chapter goes on to sing of God’s faithfulness to David and how He rescued the king from his enemies. David rejoices in his victory. But if you read through the Psalms, David speaks of God in many ways at many times.

My question today: is it good or bad to put God in a box?

I believe the answer is good. And I also believe the answer is bad.

It is bad to put God in a box in that we can forget all that He is and can do. We crunch Him up so small that we fail to recognise how big and great He really is. And, once He’s in the box we may forget to let Him out.

It is good because, at times, we need God to be something specific to and for us. Perhaps you’re struggling like David and have enemies to overcome. The Spirit may lead you to meditate on scripture that reminds you of God’s greatness and His ability to lead you to victory (like 2 Samuel 22). Just don’t get stuck there, when you have victory over your situation, don’t get stuck on those scriptures and fool yourself into believing that is all there is to God.

Our God is a great big God. He is many things to many people. Don’t forget that. If you need to focus on a single facet of His being for a while, go for it. But remember that He is limitless. He has more facets than we’ll ever be able to know or completely understand this side of Heaven.

Daily Bible reading: 2 Samuel 21-22, Luke 22:1-30

Leave a Reply

