Uncategorized

Love me

If you love me, you will keep my  commandments.

John 14:15 (ESV)

Jesus answered him, “If anyone loves me, he will keep my word, and my Father will love him, and we will come to him and make our home with him. Whoever does not love me does not keep my words. And the word that you hear is not mine but the Father’s who sent me.”

John 14: 23-24 (ESV)

A new commandment I give to you, that you love one another, just as I have loved you, you also are to love one another.

John 13: 34 (ESV)

There are – at least there should be – several by-products of Christianity. Once we make the decision to believe in Jesus as the one and only Son of God, that he died and rose again as payment for our sins, there are several things that occur.

Our response to Jesus’ sacrifice should be love. How else could we respond to someone who took our punishment as his own? And, if we truly love Jesus, we love one another.

Jesus wasn’t telling us to love him because he needed that security, because he needed the validation of generations so that he could accomplish what he set out to do. Jesus knew who he was and was confident enough in that to go to the cross on our behalf whether we professed our belief or not.

Jesus was telling us to love him because our love for him affects our love for other. If we truly, truly love Jesus, we can’t help but love others. Loving and being loved by Jesus should change our entire outlook on our lives and the lives of those around us. Jesus went so far as to say that, people who don’t love other people don’t really love him.

Ouch.

So my question today is: do you really love Jesus? And, if you really love Jesus, how does that love reflect in your love for others?

Daily Bible reading: 2 Chronicles 13-16; John 14

Leave a Reply

